Turn Off Google-Gmail Automatic Login

One of the things I’ve noticed is that Google and Gmail will automatically log me in when I open up Chrome. While this is a convenience 99.9% of the time, I can definitely see it as a security risk if your laptop gets stolen. Then the bad guys have access to your gmail email account, all your Google docs and possibly even websites if you allow Google to manage your passwords. This could be catastrophic.

I have found a way around this and it has to do with cookies. If you go to the Settings and type in cookies in the Search bar it will take you to the screen below. Note that the recommended setting is to allow all local cookies. If you change that to Keep local data only until I quit my browser, then when you close Chrome, you will also have to log back into Gmail to get to your email.

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Gmail, Google, Security. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Turn Off Google-Gmail Automatic Login

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you tom i will try that

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks Tom. That had been driving me nuts. Your answer nailed it.

  3. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t
    loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same
    outcome.

  4. Anonymous says:

    You solved the problem for me in 1 minutes. Why can’t Google be as clear?

Leave a Reply

