YouTube Video Settings

I was uploading a video to YouTube and got a message that my video might have video/audio sync problems. At the link below it said, “MOV/MP4 files exported from programs such as iMovie, Final Cut Pro, and QuickTime Pro have certain elements that are not handled well by YouTube transcoding.”
http://support.google.com/youtube/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=1297408

I originally was going from a DVD to the hard drive and had Handbrake code the file into an MP4 file. That file was still fairly large so I opened it in QuickTime Pro and use the “Export for Web” option and chose the “Desktop” option. I ended up with a file which was .36 Gb. Large, but not gigantic.

I then followed the instructions on the page above. I ended up with a file that was 3.57 Gb – ten times the size of my smaller video. You might think that the video quality was ten times better, but to my eye it looks the same.

I also checked my video on YouTube and I did not appear to have any sync issues.  The lesson learned is try the smaller size option first and if that looks ok then you won’t have to try a higher quality setting.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in video, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

