Godaddy – Websites and Web Hosting Options

I’m helping a friend setup a website for a charity and I was looking for an easy to use interface plus a reasonable price. Since my friend already has a Godaddy domain name I thought we might try and see what options they offer.

1. Regular web hosting – one year – $5.99/month. Email limited to 100mb – too small. You would either have to use Dreamweaver and upload you content or they do allow you to install a wordpress plugin.

2. WordPress web hosting – one year – $5.99/mo. WordPress is installed. You also get support which a newbie might need. The only thing I don’t like is a 100mb limit on email storage – that’s very small. I’d probably recommend a Gmail account.

He bought the option #1 without really knowing what to do. I decided to try and install the WordPress plugin.

I ended up call Godaddy help and I must say that I’m impressed. The times I’ve called them, they have been quick to answer the phones and got me the answer I needed. The process I had to go through was a bit convoluted since my original owner had made some uniformed choices, but the rep walked me through the process of setting up wordpress.

I also got “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to WordPress” and picked up a few tips. The main thing I learned was that the .org version allows you to edit your CSS file, and will allow you to sell things or in this case collect money for a charity. The .com version does not allow a commercial business at this time. The .com version also has many built in features that .org does not.

Appearance – Editor – allows you to edit your CSS file.
Make sure you copy and paste this file into a backup first.

PLUGINS

Plugins – you can find more plugins at:
http://www.worpress.org/extend/plugins

Plugins – subscribe-to-comments
Allows visitors to subscribe to your blog.

Plugins – Akismet – (spam filter) this is a two part process.  You need to first activate it and then configure it by giving it an email address, waiting for a confirmation email with an API key and then enter that key in the config page. (Note if you have a wordpress.com account, you can copy and paste your API key from that account into your .org account.)


SP-DB-Backup plugin
Automates the process of backing up your files.

Addthis – add an icon in your blog post so visitors can share your posting.

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Web Host, Website. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

