Audacity – Free Audio Editor

Audacity 2.01 is the latest free version of an audio editor.
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/

I’m using this page to keep notes for future reference.

Selection – click and drag with mouse or
Click on screen to mark your place – let the audio play and then Shift Click to select the end of your selection.

 

Keyboard Shortcuts

http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/Keyboard_Shortcut_Reference#select

You can change your keyboard preferences to anything you want. They seem to stick when you close the program.

I changed my to:

  • Delete Selction – Delete key or Ctrl D
  • Go to Beginning of audio – Home button
  • Label – Ctrl B – you can also move the label by clicking and dragging. I use a {Temp}  to save my last working spot. This process creates a Label Track. You can remove a label by selecting that area on the Label Track.
  • Move screen over one full page – PgDn or PgUp
  • Pause – P button. I use this to stop the editing at a specific point. It shows the line where I have stopped. I then click on that spot and hit the Space bar.
  • Preferences – Ctrl P
  • Repeat – Ctrl R – Use to repeat and Effect – note I changed this to the letter Z so I only have to touch one key to get my results.
  • SiLence Audio – Ctrl L
  • Zoom In – Shift Z
  • Zoom Out – Shift X
  • Zoom to Selection – Ctrl E

Keyboard Preferences
http://manual.audacityteam.org/man/Keyboard_Preferences

Background Noise Removal

  • I like to start out by changing the display of the audio. On the audio track near the top left is a DOWN ARROW KEY – click on that and choose DB WAVEFORM.
  • Select an area of just background noise
  • EFFECT – NOISE REMOVAL – GET NOISE PROFILE

 

EFFECTS

  • Amplify – I use this to reduce noise in a section. I reduce the db by 30. You can repeat it if it’s not enough.

 

GENERATE

  • Silence – you can easily add empty space to a clip.

Problems – Solutions
Sometimes I can’t Delete a section or do much of anything. Most of the Menus are greyed out. The solution is to click on the Stop button or Space bar. I know the file is not playing, but Audacity thinks it is. Seems like a bug to me.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Audio, Free, Software. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Audacity – Free Audio Editor

  1. I’ve been using Audacity for a couple of years and it’s more powerful than most people think. Check out what sort of thing you can do with it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wny1fgoYvhg

Leave a Reply

