How to Change the Letter of a Drive

I use SyncToy on a regular basis to backup data. Today when I plugged in my backup drive, it was given a different drive letter than what SyncToy was expecting. I had two choices at that point I could reconfigure my backup or just change the drive letter of the drive I plugged in. I decided that it was a lot easier to reconfigure my drive letter. Here are the steps.

From the Start – Search area, type in Computer Management. Choose that and click.

change-drive-letter-1

 

From the popup box, right click on the drive you want to change and choose “Change Drive Letter.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

change-drive-letter-2

From the next box choose the Letter you want your drive to become.

 

 

 

change-drive-letter-3Click ok on this message.

 

 

 

Now your drive has the Letter you want it to be.

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Hard Drive, Utilities, Windows 7. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

