Install Windows 8 on a Windows XP Computer

Having a older, but trustworthy Windows XP desktop, I wondered if I could add on Windows 8 to it and update it. I didn’t want to get rid of my Windows XP, I just wanted to install Windows 8 in a separate partition. Here’s are my notes.

  • Defraged the main hard drive. C:
  • Installed Easeus Partition Manager – Free Version – and created a second partition on my primary drive.
  • Ran the Windows Upgrade Assistant.
  • Paid for Windows 8, $39.99, and downloaded it. It downloads to your Desktop.
  • Note – I have read that if you are downloading from a 32 bit machine, you will only download a 32 bit version of Windows 8. To download the 64 bit version, you need to go to the email which is sent to you and do the download from a 64 bit machine.
  • PROBLEMS – normally I would get the download to the ISO file option, but not now. Windows wanted to install to my C: and wipe out my drive – no thank you.
  • Luckily I had a previous Windows 8 disk which I had previously burned.
  • Booted from the disk, not sure if it was 32 bit or 64 bit, and installed Windows 8 on the 2nd partition.
  • I now have two options when I reboot. I can stick with the tried and true Windows XP or go with the new and improved Windows 8.
  • You will have to adjust your Libraries. I keep my all my “Data” on a separate hard drive.
About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Windows 8, Windows XP. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Install Windows 8 on a Windows XP Computer

  1. I comment whenever I especially enjoy a post on a site or
    I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it’s a result of the fire communicated in the post I looked at. And on this article Install Windows 8 on a Windows XP Computer | Tech Help Home. I was actually moved enough to drop a thought 🙂 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be simply me or does it look like some of the comments
    appear like they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are
    posting at other places, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list all of all your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

