How to Keep Your Laptop from Going to Sleep

caffeine-keepyourcomputeraw

I was at a recent presentation where just after the speaker was introduced, his laptop went into “sleep” mode. It took the presenter a couple of minutes to get the laptop going again and it certainly interrupted the beginning of his presentation.

Caffeine from ZhornSoftware.co.uk is one program that simulates a keystroke every 59 seconds. Start it up and your presentation will never go to sleep again.

Thanks to Tekzilla

Question – why not just use Windows to make the changes?
Here’s my response.
I’m now using three different versions of Windows – XP, Windows 7 and Windows 8. In each it is a little different to do. Here are the steps in the Windows 8 computer I’m using right now.
– The icon to change the power settings used to be on the bottom right – it’s gone now. Where did it go?
–  Swipe up on the right part of the screen with the mouse.
– Settings
– Control Panel
– Power Options
– Change Plan Settings
–  Change “Turn off the Display” to Never
– Change “Put the Computer to Sleep” – Never
– Save Changes
– Close out the Power Settings Panel.
 – Of course when your done, you do the same to reverse the settings.
OR – you can just click an icon with the program I suggested.

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Laptop, Laptops, Power Point, Slideshow. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How to Keep Your Laptop from Going to Sleep

  1. It’s going to be end of mine day, however before ending I am reading this wonderful piece of writing to increase my experience.

  2. This is really interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger. I’ve joined your
    rss feed and sit up for in search of more of your great post.
    Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  3. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  4. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing
    to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. Hi everybody, here every person is sharing these know-how, therefore it’s nice to read this website, and I used to pay a quick visit this blog everyday.

  6. sleep aid says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It’s the little changes that produce the most important changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any recommendations for first-time blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  8. Tom Terrific says:

    I’d say write about what interests you. I’m interested in a lot of things so I have numerous blogs and post something usually once a day. There is so much out there in the world that is useful and interesting that I find it hard to not write about it.

  9. Anonymous says:

    This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which
    helped me. Thank you!

  10. Anonymous says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  11. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I enjoy looking through a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

