Spam Text Messages – What To Do

Since I have to pay twenty cents for each text message I receive, I am not very fond of spam text messages. Leo LaPorte on Security Now says that he just deletes the messages and that one should never respond, even if it is to say STOP, since that may generate a $35  fee and will only notify the spammer that this is a good phone number.

Here’s what the FCC says, “The TCPA and the FCC’s rules ban many text messages sent to a mobile phone using an autodialer. These texts are banned unless (1) you previously gave consent to receive the message or (2) the message is sent for emergency purposes. This ban applies even if you have not placed your mobile phone number on the national Do-Not-Call list of numbers telemarketers must not call.”

You can also complain to the FCC at this URL.
http://www.fcc.gov/complaints

Also some carriers have ways of controlling this type of spam.

If you use an Android phone you can try a free app to control spam text.

 

 

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Phone, Security. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Spam Text Messages – What To Do

  1. Joe says:

    I was very happy to find this page. I wanted to thank you
    for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it
    and i also have you bookmarked to check out new things on your
    site.

  2. Outstanding quest there. What occurred after?
    Good luck!

  3. It is truly a great and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Everything is very open with a clear explanation of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is very useful. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet
    effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance. I must say you have done a excellent job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!

  6. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, good site!

  7. Hello terrific website! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work?
    I’ve no understanding of programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject but I just wanted to ask. Kudos!

  8. Hey there! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does building a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my personal experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  9. After exploring a number of the articles on your site, I truly like your technique of blogging.

    I saved it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in
    the near future. Please visit my website as well and let me know your
    opinion.

  10. Very nice write-up. I certainly appreciate this website.
    Thanks!

  11. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some time and
    actual effort to create a really good article… but what can I
    say… I put things off a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Right here is the perfect web site for anyone who hopes
    to understand this topic. You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic which has been discussed for ages.
    Excellent stuff, just great!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very pressured
    me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thank you, very nice post.

  14. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely excellent. I actually like
    what you have acquied here, certainly like what you’re stating
    and the way in which you say it. You mazke it entertaining and you still take care of
    to keep it sensible. I canht wait to read much more from you.
    Thhis is acctually a terrific web site.

  15. Why users still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world the whole thing
    is presented on web?

  16. Latesha says:

    I read this post completely regarding the resemblance of hottest and preceding
    technologies, it’s amazing article.

Leave a Reply

