iTouch vs Samsung Galaxy Rush

Samsung-GR-1

I recently bought the Samsung Galaxy Rush (GR) for around $80 plus tax – Radio Shack on Sale. I’ve already got a phone so I was just looking for an inexpensive media device that I could use in the garden and while waiting in the doctors office.  Note – they also gave me a $10 coupon – effective price $70.

I got this idea from @iyaz who bought it to put on games for his kids.

I thought it might also be nice to compare the GR against my iPod Touch.(iTouch) – Version 3 I think.

  • It comes with 1.8 gb free to add apps and movies, but I bought a 16 gb microSD card for around $11 to get more space. I put all my podcasts and videos on the card.
  • Although I don’t want to “Activate” the phone, every once in a while it keeps trying to do this and I’d like a way to turn it off.
  • It  appears that I could make Emergency Calls with this device if needed.
  • Battery – standard micro-usb rechargeable and replaceable. Nice!
  • Camera – two very basic – but it does have a flash. You can switch from the front to the rear facing camera. It has a dedicated camera button on the side to quickly take pictures. See the picture below for results – it’s only a 3 megapixel picture -but still ok for such an inexpensive device.
  • Connecting to the computer – the first time you do this, it takes a number of minutes to install the drivers. After that, it’s very quick to plug it in and drag and drop files. This capability is one reason I prefer this device over the iTouch. You have to use iTunes to move files with the iTouch.
  • Flashlight – much brighter than the iTouch since it has the flash capability.
  • GPS – it does have this capability also.
  • Keyboard – it’s better than my standard Nexus 7. Has number and letters together.
  • Size – approximately the same screen size as my iTouch although a bit thicker.
  • Skype – this device does have front and rear facing cameras. I’ve installed Skype and tested it out. It works great – the picture is fine.
  • Sound – fairly loud for its size although I’ll usually be connecting this to my Jambox or ear phones.
  • Video – I just watched Netflix and the quality is fine.
  • I prefer using a stylus especially since this device is a bit small.
  • Here’s a link for the User Guide. http://www.boostmobile.com/shop/phones/user_guides/userguide_rush.pdf
  • Apps seem to install easily. I usually choose them on the computer and have them automatically downloaded to my device.

Samsung-GR-3

Summary – WOW! I’m impressed and so far can’t find anything negative to say. for $80 it’s a steal and then they give you a $10 coupon!

Below is a size comparison between my older iTouch and the GR.

Samsung-GR-2

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Misc, Review, video. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iTouch vs Samsung Galaxy Rush

  1. This content is constructed for thinking readers. I found this to be interesting, for lack of a better word and contains excellent points. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

