Canon Powershot SX280 – Notes

I recently bought the Canon Powershot SX280 and was looking forward to all of its great capabilities. One problem however seemed at the forefront. When I shot video and tried to zoom, the battery level when from full charge to “low battery warning” and then it would shut off.

I tried the firmware update – 1.0.2 (instructions are in the update zip file), but even after the update, I seemed to have the low battery warnings. I recharged the battery and did the test again and everything seems to be ok. I’m going to do some tests to try and figure out exactly what might be occurring. I set the default to be 1280 x 720 – 30fps.

sx280

  • Test 1 – Dial at Movie mode – 1280×720 – Full Charge (FC) -record for 5 minutes – zooming – No Problems.
  • Test 2 – Dial at Movie mode – 1280×720 – FC – recorded for 30 minutes before shutting off. I did not try zooming
  • Test 3 – Dial at Movie mode – 1280×720 – FC – 26 minutes and Zooming – no problem.
  • Test 4 – Dial at Movie mode – 1280×720 – 2 bars – this is just after Test 3. – around 20 minutes I got Red Low Battery Warning, but it continued recording to 30 minutes. Changing back to picture mode battery shows two bars.
  • Test 5 – Dial at Movie Mode – 1920 x 1080 – FC – seemed fine until I started zooming around 20 minutes and got the RED Low Battery Warning. I’m wondering if using the higher HD settings needs more power – When I turned the camera off and on, it went back to 3 bars on the battery.
  • Test 6 – Dial at Movie Mode – 1920 x 1080 – charge is less as this is right after Test #5. Zooming at one minute and I get the RED Low Battery Warning. Recorded to 24 minutes – so it appears that the Red flashing Light doesn’t mean much when recording video. When I move back to picture mode, I’m getting the Red Flashing Low Battery. It appears that there’s about a maximum of one hour video recording with a full Charge.
  • Test 7 – Dial at Program mode – automatically changes to 1920 x 1080 for some reason – At 5 minutes – RED Low Battery Warning”  – but it keeps recording to 4 GB limit – 23:51 minutes. 
  • This definitely seems like a software issue – hopefully it will be fixed in the future.

Other Information

Nice review: http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_PowerShot_SX280_HS/

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Camera. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Canon Powershot SX280 – Notes

  1. Many thanks for sharing your opinions on this site.

Leave a Reply

