TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND Router Installation

router-1043ND

I just installed installed this router as a replacement for a D-Link which died. I had a number of problems in the setup and thought I would document them so that this might help some other people.

  • I installed from the min-CD which came with the router. You have to search on it to find the 1043 installation.
  • It does run you through a basic installation easily and seems to work right up to the last step.
  • When it tries to “Verify the Router Setup.” It can’t complete this setup.
  • On a separate sheet of paper, it says that if you have an ISP like Comcast or Charter you may have to take some extra steps. This includes copying a MAC address. I followed their instructions. I have never had this problem before and wonder if it is something that is becoming common.
  • I then unplugged my modem and router, plugged the modem back in and then the router and finally everything worked!
  • In the setup, you don’t change the Admin password, so that is something you’ll want to do.
  • I also turned off WPS and UPnP.
  • When I tested my download speeds, my wireless download was as good as my Ethernet download. Impressive!
  • I then went into my settings under Wireless and Enabled SpeedBoost. Theoretically, it might increase my speed my 50%.  In reality my speed went up from 22 to 23 Mbps – not much change.

Note – I ended up returning the router as it wouldn’t connect properly one day. Luckily it was in the 30 day warranty period for Amazon. Too bad.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Router. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

