WDTV Play Review

wdtvplay

With my Roku model 2100x starting to give me problems I thought I might try a different device and save some money in the process. At $40 the WDTV Play was an easy choice. Here are some of my observations from the installation.

Installation was easy to follow and worked just fine.

There are only 33 apps compared to the hundreds on Roku. I particularly miss my tech shows – Revision3, TWIT and CNET. I also will be missing my Ted network, so there are some compromises with this device.  It also doesn’t have Amazon Instant Video which for some people would be a deal-breaker.

This unit does have YouTube which my older Roku doesn’t have so that’s a nice feature. You can do a search and find the missing shows that you would like to watch. The newer Rokus do have YouTube.

The USB port not only will show pictures and videos, but will also allow you to plug in a keyboard which will help in searching in YouTube.

There is also an app you can install which will help control your device – WD TV Remote. I might use this for searching in YouTube.

It also has DNLA support which the older Roku doesn’t have either, but the newer Rokus do have.

It also has an on/off switch which I like. Rokus don’t have this and are always on. I don’t know if that is a factor in my unit acting up, but I like being able to turn off a device if I’m not using it.

The remote seems like you have to push on the keys a bit too much to make your choices. It’s not a big deal, but just a minor thing.

If your budget is tight and you can live with fewer apps, then this device will be perfect for you. If you’re willing to spend an extra $60, the Roku 3 will give you many more apps and may be a better choice.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Misc, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

