Becoming a Standard User

One of the security tips that is easily done is to change your user status from Administrator to Standard User. A recent report from Avecto said that, “92% of Critical vulnerabilities would be mitigated by removing admin rights across an enterprise.”

I thought I’d give it a try and see what problems I might run into.

Here’s the process.

  • Create another Administrator account so that you always have that available to make changes. I like to have two just in case.
  • Change your user account to Standard from Administrator.
  • Make sure when you start your computer that you login with the Standard account. I actually named my accounts as Tom- Standard and Tom-Administrator.
  • I’ll keep track of the problems I encounter.
About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Security. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

