How to Import an Outlook PST File into Gmail

Helping a friend move from one old computer to another new computer, it turned out that even though he had a Yahoo email address, he used Outlook for his emails. This version of Outlook keeps all it’s data in a PST file. I did manage to find the OUTLOOK.PST file on the old hard drive, but then the question was how to get the contacts into Gmail.

It turns out that Google has a partial solution – Google’s Migration Tool.

Migration-Tool-02

After downloading and trying to install this tool, I had a problem.

 

Migration-Tool-01

I realized that you must have Outlook installed on the computer for this Tool to work. I don’t use Outlook any more, so I had to come up with option #2.

My answer was to find another computer, my wife’s old computer, which did have Outlook installed. I copied the PST file over to that computer and the Migration Tool worked fine.

Most solutions I found online mentioned downloading Outlook from the web, but none of the links I followed allowed that.

If you don’t have Outlook, try and find a friend who does, bring your PST file and it should work for you too.

 

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Gmail. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Import an Outlook PST File into Gmail

  1. This only works for Google Apps Gmail – not for Gmail on the Web (for us non-business Gmail users!)

Leave a Reply

