WordPress – Spam

While I get very little spam in my WP blogs, I just had a friend indicate that he was getting lots. I did a little research into this area and here is what I found and what the problem might be.

The first thing you need to do is go to the Discussion area.
Dashboard – WP Admin – Settings – Discussion

wp-comments

In that area you have a number of options.

WP does have a spam filter call Akismet which is on automatically.

Here are the settings I use.

  • Allow people to post comments on new articles – obviously if you turn this off, you won’t get any comments.
  • Email me when – A comment is held for moderation. This way I can keep track of new comments on the blog.
  • Before a comment appears  – Comment must be manually approved – Comment author must have a previously approved comment. This way no comment gets through without my approval.
  • Akismet anti-spam strictness – Strict: silently discard the worst and most pervasive spam. This seems to keep most of my spam away. I’ve got a feeling that my friend doesn’t have this setting on which may be the reason for all his spam.

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in WordPress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

