Linux on an Older Laptop

linux-laptop

I’ve got an older, Pentium processor, but functional older laptop that I am going to experiment with installing Linux on to. I was advised by Tekthing to use the Mint version of Linux, so that’s what I’m doing.

One of the reasons I’m doing this is because Microsoft Windows costs so much and Linux seems like it actually might work. I use Puppy Linux for my banking and like the experience.

  • Download Linux Mint – 32 or 64 bit version. 1.3 gb It’s an ISO file, so I will need to burn it to a DVD. Check Control Panel – System to see if you have a 32 bit or 64 bit system. I downloaded 17.1 Rebecca – Cinnamon 32 bit.vh
  • I found a great installation tutorial pdf, so I’m not going to re-post all of the steps. If I have any problems or learn anything, I’ll post those things below. Here’s the pdf tutorial. http://www.linuxmint.com/documentation/user-guide/Cinnamon/english_17.1.pdf
  • I did plug in an Ethernet cable since they suggest to do that.
  • It seemed to install correctly on my laptop, but did hangup when I went to reboot. I had to turn off the computer. It then booted fine.
  • Download and install Google Chrome.
  • I do like that it asks for your password every time you try to install new software.
  • Download and install Lastpass.
  • Unplugged the Ethernet cable and checked the Wireless – works fine.

PROBLEMS

I could not find a Printer Driver for my Brother HL-5450DN printer, it’s not in the available list,  so I went to the Brother website and found a possible solution, but didn’t know which one to choose. I arbitrarily took the deb version.

linux-printer-01

They then give you all of the possible download below – which one do I choose?

linux-printer-02

 

Note – I finally found a video which explains this process. He says to download two files – the LPR driver and the cupwrapper driver. Read my notes below before using the Terminal – you don’t have to do that any more.

I also found the same files he was talking about at the links below.

http://support.brother.com/g/s/id/linux/en/download_prn.html#HL-5450DN / HL-5450DNT

To finally install my printer – here’s what I did.

  • I downloaded both files – LPR and Cups
  • Right clicked on the LPR file and chose ” Open with GDebi Package Installer.”
  • I then did the same with the CupsWrapper File.
  • When I did this I noticed a popup that said my printer was installed.
  • I checked under Printers and my printer was installed and seems to be working fine.
About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

