BBB Scam Tracker

One of the resolutions you might want to make for 2016 is – “Don’t Fall for a Scam.” The famous quote, “There’s a sucker born every minute, ” seems to be the motto of thousands of bad guys who want to take some of your hard-earned money.

I didn’t realize how pervasive the scams were until I went to a BBB website – Scam Tracker – which shows how many scams were reported in the last year – 13,012 in the U.S. and Canada. These are the only ones which are reported, so I’m sure the number is much higher. I get phishing emails and bogus awards and junk in my email every day so I’m sure the actual number would be in the millions if not billions.

One trick I use is to never answer phone calls that I don’t recognize on Caller ID. That way you can screen your calls and only answer and respond to honest callers. You may have a feature on your phone to block those calls or move them directly to voice mail.

The second tip is to NEVER click on email links. Even if it appears to be from a trusted friend. Many of those accounts may have been compromised. I frequently call or email friends and let them know that their email has been hacked.

bbb-scam-tracker

bbbbbbbbbbb

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Security. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

