Able2Extract PDF Converter

Almost monthly I get or find a PDF file that has some great information, but it’s not very useful since the information is tied up in the PDF format.

Sometimes I can copy and paste a PDF file, but a lot of times I can’t. Able2Extract PDF Converter version 10 is a way to not only convert files from PDFs to other formats, but also turn other formats into PDFs. It even allows you some basic editing of PDF documents. Here are the results of my tests.

  • They do give you a seven day free trial which will give you time to try it out for yourself.
  • While they want you to close down everything while it installs, I’m keeping my browser open so I can make notes.
  • I’m installing this on a Windows 10 machine and had no installation problems. It installs a icon on your desktop.
  • The license number is a 20 character number which has spaces in between, which makes it a pain to enter any license number – cut and paste would be nicer.
  • It gives you the option to immediately start the program which is what I did.

At this point you have two options – either Open a PDF file or Create a PDF.

Lets start with the Open option. In the case below I Opened a PDF book which I have written. You can then choose Edit – Select All Pages or Select Page Range and then choose the format you want it converted into. Excel, CSV, Word, PowerPoint, Publisher, OpenOffice, AutoCad and Image are all conversion options. It’s a fairly simple process.

If for some reason you don’t get all those options, you can use your mouse and click and drag on the page to select everything you want converted.

Able2Extract-05

With this first document, I had trouble with the graphics displaying correctly. As you can see below, the graphics in the book all had a reddish tinge to them. The PDF on the right with the orange border, is what it should look like.

Able2Extract-01

 

Able2Extract-04

When I converted the pages from a pdf to a Word docx file, the graphic printed correctly. I’m not sure what caused the graphics to display the reddish tinge.

One of the features I really like is that it’s easy to convert a PDF to a JPG. I find that more people are sending out PDF files which are not what I want for WordPress.com. I convert these PDFs to JPG which display easily in WordPress – that’s a nice feature for us bloggers.

Able2Extract-08

I tried this with another PDF and had the results above. When I tried to convert it to a .doc file it also didn’t convert correctly. This PDF did display correctly normally, so somehow A2E was having trouble convert this.

Another problem I had was in trying to convert a  .pub file into a PDF – it didn’t work. It has trouble with the .pub file and tried to install a Microsoft Office product. Publisher files are an older format, but it would be nice if they converted correctly.

Creating PDF Documents

Creating PDFs is a bit mis-named. What you are really doing is opening up a file that your have previously worked on and then converting it to a PDF file. It used to be that you need Adobe Acrobat to create PDF documents, but these days most programs have this capability. I can create PDFs in Microsoft Word 2010, Google Docs, Photoshop and my scanner even has those capabilities. The difference is that in A2E you have options for the documents you create. If you look at the graphic below it will show you some of those options. When I was writing books, I used Acrobat to create different PDF formats for different needs. The printer wanted one type of PDF with better resolution and I created smaller size PDFs for the books I wanted people to download. Similar options are available in A2E.

Able2Extract-03

 

Print Driver

A2E also adds a print driver so that you can print to PDF from any application. What I don’t appreciate is that A2E changed my default print driver to itself. Now I have to go back in and change it back to my normal printer. Not a big deal, but it may cause problems for some users.

Able2Extract-07

 

Pricing

$99.95 is the price for a single desktop/laptop installation. When you compare that to what Adobe Acrobat costs – $449 – it seems like a bargain. The program seems mainly aimed at corporate users. I’d like to see them offer a home version for less money.

Summary

For businesses, A2E offers many of the capabilities of Acrobat at less than a quarter of the cost. The problem is that it seems to have trouble with some PDFs. I would try it with your PDFs during the free trial and see if it works for you.

For personal use, it may not make sense as many program offer the capability to print to PDF or save as PDF. If you want more control such as when you might be authoring a book, it does give you more options which might be necessary.They also offer a free online version which will convert a PDF file to Word

Below is a video of the basic capabilities of Version 9. I asked the company about a Version 10 video and they replied,  “The options stayed the same, only PDF editing and some other minor changes are updated to new version.”

 

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in PDF. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

