Hard Drive to SSD

I want to exchange my laptop hard drive (Dell 17r-7720)  for a SSD so I’m documenting the steps I am taking.

The software I am using is Macrium Reflect. They offer a free version which is what I am using.

The first issue I am facing is that I have a 1 TB hard drive and I only have 240 gb of space on the SSD. I have copied all my videos and data off the hard drive onto two different locations. I’m going to delete the video and data from the hard drive, so I don’t have to worry about having enough space.

I also notice that some videos say that you have to initialize the SSD as a MBR or  GPT and format the SSD, but the Macrium Reflect video does not do this. I’m going to try the clone without the extra step of Initializing and Formatting.

I also decided to not copy the 17 gb Restoration area that I had. Since I still have the hard drive with this installed, I don’t think it’s necessary.

I’m using the “StarTech.com USB 3.1 (10Gbps) Adapter Cable for 2.5″ SATA SSD/HDD Drives – Supports SATA III (6 Gbps) – USB Powered.” on Amazon, What’s nice is that it’s small and doesn’t need a power adapter. If you have a USB 3 port, make sure you use it to speed up the process.

hard-drive-SSD-01

Here is what the setup looks like.

Below is a video on how to install the SSD into the computer.

Bummer –  the computer won’t boot with the SSD!
No matter what I did with the Bios it would not boot.

When I reinstalled the old hard drive, it had the same problems booting. I changed the Bios to the Default settings and the hard drive booted.

Plan B is to try using Macrium Reflect and let it choose which partitions to copy. When it did this, it said it did not have enough room. It did want to clone the Restoration partition and I allowed it to do so. I decreased the size of the last partition so that I could fit on the last partition.

After cloning this time, the SSD booted successfully!
I’m not sure what the difference was.

Here are my overall results.

 

Hard Drive
– Boot time to my Google Calendar is 3.5 minutes
– Battery time is 60 minutes.
– Adobe Premiere – program start time is very slow.

SSD
– Boot time to Google Calendar – 39 seconds.
– Battery time is 70 minutes – I was disappointed with this number.
– Adobe Premiere – program start time is very fast
– Computer will not go into Sleep Mode! Windows 10 seems to have lost control of this function.

Summation
For $70, this upgrade did speed things up, but not increase my battery time by much. My loss of the Sleep Function is aggravating. I will have to remember to Power Down any time I am finished using the computer and it is in battery power.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Hard Drive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

