Netgear AC1750 (R6400)

netgearrouter -600

After three years my old router finally bit the dust and so I had to make a decision on which router to install as a replacement. The Wirecutters upgrade model, the Netgear AC1750 was the router I decided to try. Their recommended model –  TP-Link Archer C7 (v2) – had two factors against it – it’s user interface and lack of advanced controls. For $20.00 more I got those features.

Here are some notes on the installation.

  • You don’t need to run a CD anymore.
  • You don’t need an ethernet connection to do the setup.
  • I did the installation over wifi.
  • They have very clear printed instructions.
  • Routers now have a preinstalled secure wifi with its own 12 character password. For most situations this is probably ok and will keep people from forgetting to setup a secure wifi.
  • You can change the SSID and password if you wish.
  • You can also setup a secure Guest Network for friends.
  • UPnP is turned on by default – I turned this off.
  • The Administrator account still has default passwords. You will need to change these also. They also give you Security Questions to restore your account.
  • This particular router had a security flaw according to Wirecutter, but it has been patched. I’m impressed by Netgear in recognizing the problem and fixing it.
  • The router looks for updates during the installation process and downloads and installs them.
  • I did register the router to get further security updates.
  • The router seems to be as fast or slightly faster than the previous router.
  • I bought this at a local Walmart. Normallly, I would buy it at Amazon, but I wanted to install it the same day.

Note – this router is in the basement in a corner, so it’s not the best location. It does seem to work fine for all my needs in a two story house.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.
This entry was posted in Router. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

